MOTOLUBER
Motor club

Postal address: 107140 Moscow , P.O. Box 123. Telephone: (495) 9919921.
E-mail: info@motoluber.ru . www: www.motoluber.ru


From dawn till dusk
or
How we visited Daytona

      Video report

 

Introduction

At first we intended to go to Sturgis, South Dakota, held for the sixty-fourth time from the 9 th to 15 th of August. And we even held the official meeting of our cheery team. Sixteen persons entered their names. But the trip was born in the throes not to Sturgis, but to Daytona Big, Florida from the 20 th to 24 th of October, and for many reasons only two people remained “alive” from among those sixteen who originally wished.

Part I

09.10.04. We flew out of the airport. The flight of Aeroflot had been delayed by 3 hours, as a notorious special control had been carried out including overturn of all things of luggage and hand-luggage twice, taking off shoes, all metal things and so on.

The flight to Los Angeles, California, takes 14 hours – this is, I think, one of the most long-range nonstop flights of Aeroflot. Food is served twice, apart from beer, juices which may be served all the time.

At arrival, in the evening we stayed at the LAX hotel closest to the airport– the biggest and, perhaps, sole international airport of Los Angeles. In that evening an afro-american wedding was celebrated there – that was something extraordinary!!! Abundance of barenecked African women and young lads in smoking of grin and pink tones was amazing!

10.10.04. It needs probably to say that we obtained visas in USA without any particular problems. At the interview in the Embassy we were provided with photos from our last year's motor races through Scandinavia and Jupon, as well as Internet – confirmations that we had reserved motorcycles on hire (HD Electra Gluide).

We came to the motorcycle hire service where made acquaintance in presence with Glenn, a man with whom we had communicated only by Inet. We hired two Harleys for twenty-four hours in order to go to Orange County → Mecca of American customizing.

Lekha had a HD-Read King, I had a Fat Boy. The motorcycles were “zero” of the model year 2004, very broad handle bars, absence of windshield, patented sound. We visited Orange County → it is 40 miles south of Los Angeles; came back and moved into another hotel closer to the hire service. The hotel named Foruma Hotel is situated 500 meters from the district with a famous name Hollywood, is cheap and cheesy for so brilliant names.

Our acclimatization passes thus: at night we are wandering, in the evening – sleeping flies look better than we do…

Alexis read the verse of his wife that she had written in honour of the departure of her husband – it is very lovely and encouraging.

Yes, it is necessary to say about California climate – it is the most fairytale climate in U.S.A. In winter it is not cold ~ 18 ºC, in summer up to 35 ºC it is not hot. This is because easterly there is a “radiator” – the Pacific Ocean, and westerly California is protected by mountains not allowing hot or cold air to come from the continent. Nevertheless, the air still penetrate here and there and we will feel that on our own back soon.

11.10.04. Today at the age of 52 actor Christopher Reeve creating a part of Superman died. Although he was tied to the wheelchair last years because of the spinal injury, all America mourned his depth. At the Star Alley near the Reeve's star all day long pressmen watched, fans brought flowers, wreaths and letters to this place. There were many tourists at the Alley – we heard Russian speech time and again. For example, in a curio shop a young girl from Lithuania worked as a sales girl.

Today I have bought Harley V-Rod – a personal motorcycle of our hire master Glen. And Alexis, as it was agreed on, has taken HD Electra Gluide for Rent. A huge “window” has been installed and less impressive coffers on V-Rod for a greater long-range capability.

12.10.04. Nevada. We being “battle-equipped” started out north-west for the glorious city of Las Vegas. When we approached the mountains, a very strong warm, and I'm not afraid of saying so, hot wind blowing somehow along the mountain chain met us. The way to Las Vegas is a route between sandy mountains and sand valleys in the name of which somehow the word “death” is often used. As it became known to us later many people perished here who stayed overnight in such places and died of hot air supersaturated with salt.

The route had a speed limitation of 75 miles per hour (one mile is about 1,61 km). This a maximum value for America, but everyone exceeded the speed limit by about 5-10 miles and felt great security, and “Highway Patrol” controlling the speed-range shut its eyes to such pranks.

It is about 400 km from Los Angeles to Vegas and having passed them I understood that V-Rod is not meant for travels, this is a purely urban means of transportation, as its 13 liters of gasoline is only just enough for 90-100 miles of route. So I had to buy an additional gasoline can of volume of 2 gallons ~ 7 liters.

In Las Vegas we met Czechs on 2 Harleys going on the famous 66 Route from Chicago, we were very surprised to see each other.

I imagined Vegas as an oasis in a desert consisting only of mega-super casinos and so on. In reality everything is mush more prosaic – this is quite a big city with its developed social organism, in the heart of which enormous hotels with casinos on the first-second floors are situated. We settled down in one of such hotels called Excalibur, I will not mention the cost of hotel accommodation, I only say that it was the most expensive overnight halt during the whole tour.

13.10.04. We started south from Vegas in tee-shirts to 40 Highway. About 50 kilometers away we passed in the mountains the famous Goodwin's dam, where we came across the first cabin on our way (there were two of them during our trip). One! policeman stood at watch and examined Your face – if he did not like it, he probably took some measures, but the motorcyclists in our persons did not interested him, even Lekha who put on the helmet protecting his face against sun with the depiction of skull! After we had started and passed 152 km along 40 Highway, we turned to 66 Route renowned due the film “Easy rider” and moved to the Grand Canyon National Park (Arizona) through the Hualapai Indian Reservation. On the 3 rd day I saw for the first time bisons grazing on prairies, and I remembered at once a book from my childhood about Chungachguk. Route 66 is a two-way road forsaken of God and normal people (bikers are obviously not among them) on which motorcycles - tourists and not numerous local people mainly go. Gas filling stations on 66 Route look like Saloons from westerns with one-two petrol pillars of the model of 1949.

On the way to the Grand Canyon in the town of Williams my attention was attracted by a motel with two old steam-locomotives Santa Fe and one coach car as old as the gas filling station mentioned above. I, as a man concerned with railway, was surprised that in America:

1) the railway is not electrified, that is why they place huge forty-foot containers on flatcars on two! storeys – as there are not wires above.

2) the length of trains exceeded the length of Russian freight trains almost twice as much!

Grand Canyon – that is great! It must have been one of the seven surviving wonders of the world. Grand Canyon is an enormous earth rift, one can hardly see the other “bank”. And at the bottom there are red-stone mountains and rivers, streams may hardly be discerned from the tremendous altitude. On the precipice a cold wind blows it means that we are high above the level of the sea. There were a lot of Chinese and Japanese tourists. When descending Canyon we for the first time go in the dark – the sky of Arizona is more than starry!

Note: All the way Lekha went about three meters behind, - he must have “fished cops by a bait fish”; considering that there were a lot of them, and judging from spirited dialogues at the side of the road they were not lack for clients.

We stayed overnight in the Navaho Indian Reservation, to the question whether our motorcycles would be in safety the Reception clerks only shrugged their shoulders.

14.10.04. Today a road racer has waken up in Diplomat (or he has simply got a good night's sleep). He speeded at 90 miles per hour, I could hardly follow him. It was very cold, we were going to Albuquerke on 40 Highway, along the table-land. The first 200 miles I held the handle bar by one hand, the other warmed itself near… the behind. Not withstanding the mockery of winds we left the highway and went strictly south on 77 highway to the Mexican frontier. It became apparently warmer, we passed the Apache Reservation through the mountains, canyons, lakes – places are very beautiful. At one of gas filling stations Diplomat contributed a dollar for children's needs and he was memorized in the annals of patron movement of Arizona. His name was signed on the maple-leaf cut out of paper and stuck on the glass wall of the gas filling station – it is nothing but it is damned nice!

Having arrived in New Mexico we decided to have a shack. We entered into one of ranch cafes where we were evidently the first visitors for the last week, they were so pleased to see us. The aunts fried large steaks for us and explained to us in detail the political situation in USA insisting on Bush's primacy. (Speaking about forthcoming elections on November 2, 2004, it needs to say that slogans there are heavier than ours – “VOTE OR DIED!” They also sent their regards to V.V.Putin and said that progressive inhabitants of the state supported him in his difficult fight against terrorism (so if you, Vladimir Vladimirovich, read, please, take it into consideration).


© MOTOLUBER.RU

Мотолюбер

Почтовый адрес: 107140 г. Москва, а/я 123. Телефон: (495) 9919921.
E-mail: info@motoluber.ru. www: www.motoluber.ru


От рассвета до заката
или
Как мы в Дайтону ездили

      Видеофильм о поездке

Введение 

Изначально собирались ехать в Стуржик , штат Южная Дакота, проводимый в шестьдесят четвертый раз с 9-го по 15-ое августа. И даже провели официальное собрание нашей веселой дружины. Записалось шестнадцать человек. Но в муках родилась поездка не в Стуржик , а в Дайнону Биг , штат Флориды с 20-го по 24 октября и из шестнадцати желающих в силу многих причин осталось только двое «живых».

Часть I

09.10.04 г. Вылетаем из Шарика. Вылет Аэрофлота задержали на 3 часа, так как осуществлялся пресловутый спецконтроль , включающий в себя переворот всех вещей багажа и ручной клади дважды, снятие обуви, всех металлических вещей и так далее.

Лёту до Лос-Анжелеса , штат Калифорния, занимает 14 часов – это, я думаю, один из самых дальних беспосадочных полетов Аэрофлота. Кормят дважды, это опромя пива, соков, которые можно пользовать постоянно.

При приезде, вечером поселились в ближайшей гостинице к аэропорту LAX – крупнейший и, наверное, единственный международный аэропорт Лос-Анжелеса . В этот вечер там, в гостинице, проводилась афроамериканская свадьба – это было нечто!!! Изобилие декольтированных африканок и молодых парней в смокингах зелено-розовых тонов поражало!

 

10.10.04 г. Надо, наверное, сказать о том, что визы мы получили в США без особых проблем. При собеседовании в посольстве предоставили фотографии с наших прошлогодних мотопробегов по Скандинавии и Японии, а также интернет – подтверждения о том, что мы забронировали мотоциклы под аренду (HD Electra Gluide).

Приехали в контору по прокату мотоциклов, где очно познакомились с Гленном , человеком, с которым общались только по Инету . Взяли на прокат на одни сутки два Харлея , чтобы съездить в Orange County мекку американского кастомайзинга .

У Лёхи HD – Read King, у меня - Fat Boy. Моцики «нулевые» 2004 модельного года, широченные рули, отсутствие ветрового «окна», патентованый звук… Съездили в Orange County находится в 40 милях к югу от Лос-Анжелеса ; вернулись и переселились в другой отель, поближе к прокату. Отель под названием Foruma Hotel , находится в 500 метрах от района города с известным именем Голливуд – дешевый, он и грязноватый для столь блистательных названий.

Акклиматизация проходит так: ночью бродим, вечером – сонные мухи, выглядят лучше нас…

Алексий почитал стихи жены, которые она написала в честь отъезда супруга – очень мило и ободряюще.

Да, необходимо сказать климате Калифорнии – это самый сказочный климат США. Зимой не холодно ~ 18ОС, летом до 35ОС не жарко. Это потому, что с Востока находится «радиатор» в виде Тихого океана, а с Запада Калифорнию защищают горы, не дающие холодному или горячему воздуху проникать с материка. Хотя воздух все-таки местами проникает, и это мы вскоре почувствуем на собственной шкуре.

 

11.10.04 г. Сегодня в возрасте 52-х лет умер актер Кристофер Риив – первый исполнитель роли Супермена в возрасте 52 года. И хотя он из-за травмы позвоночника в последние годы был прикован к инвалидной коляске, вся Америка скорбила по этой утрате. На Аллее Звезд в Голливуде возле звезды Риива весь день дежурили репортеры, поклонники приносили цветы, венки и письма на это место. На Аллее много туристов – мы неоднократно слышали русскую речь. В магазине сувениров продавщицей, к примеру, работала молодая девушка из Литвы.

Сегодня я купил Харли V - Rod – личный мотоцикл нашего прокатных дел мастера Глена . А Алексий, как и договаривался, забрал HD Electra Gluide for Rent . На V - Rod для пущей дальнобойности поставили огромное «окно» и менее впечатляющие кофры.

 

12.10.04 г. Невада. Выехали в полном боевом снаряжении на Северо-Запад в славный город Лас-Вегас. Подъезжая к горам, нас встретил очень сильный теплый, не побоюсь этого слова – жаркий, ветер, который дул почему-то вдоль горного хребта. Дорога на Вегас представляет собой трассу меж песчаных гор и песчаными долинами, в названии которых почему-то часто употребляется слово смерть. Как позже стало известно, здесь погибало много людей, которые оставались ночевать в подобных местах и умирали от перенасыщенного солью горячего воздуха.

Трасса имела ограничение в 75 миль в час (в 1 миле примерно около 1,61 км). Это максимальное значение для Америки, но все превышали скорость примерно на 5-10 миль и чувствовали себя преспокойно, и « Хайвей Патруль», контролирующий скоростной режим, закрывает на подобные шалости глаза.

От Лос-Анжелеса до Вегаса примерно 400 км и проехав их я понял что V - Rod не создан для путешествий – это чисто городское средство передвижения, так как его 13 литров бензина еле хватает на 90-100 миль дороги. Посему пришлось покупать дополнительную канистру с бензином объемом 2 галлона ~ 7 литров.

В Вегасе встретили чехов на 2-х Харлеях , едущих по знаменитой 66 Route из Чикаго, были при этом очень удивлены видеть друг друга.

Я представлял Вегас как оазис в пустыне, состоящий только из мега-супер-пупер казино. В реальности все гораздо прозаичнее – это довольно большой город со своим развитым социумом, в центре которого и стоят огромные гостиницы с казино на первых-вторых этажах. Поселились мы в одной из таких гостиниц под названием Excalibur , стоимость проживания называть не буду, скажу только, что это была самая дорогая ночевка за всё турне.

 

13.10.04 г. Из Вегаса выехали в футболках в сторону юга к 40-му хайвею . Километрах в 50-ти проезжали в горах знаменитую плотину Гудвина , где наткнулись на первый на нашем пути блокпост (всего за время нашего путешествия их было два). На посту стоял один(!) полисмен и смотрел на Ваш face - если ему он не нравился, он, видимо, предпринимал какие-то меры, но мотоциклисты в нашем лице его не заинтересовали, даже Лёха , который был в маске, защищающей его лицо от солнца с изображением черепа ! Выехав и проехав 152 км по 40-му Хайвею , мы свернули на прославленную фильмом «Беспечный ездок» 66 Route и двинулись в национальный парк «Гранд Каньён » (штат Аризона) через резервацию индейцев племени Хуалапай . 3 день я впервые увидел пасущихся в прериях бизонов, и сразу вспомнилась книжка из детства про Чингачгука . Route 66 представляет из себя забытую богом и нормальными людьми ( байкеры явно к таким не относятся) двустороннюю дорогу, по которой ездят в основном мотоциклисты – туристы и немногочисленные местные жители. АЗС на 66-ой похожи на Салуны из вестернов с одной-двумя бензиновыми колоннами образца 49 года.

По пути в Гранд Каньон мое внимание в городке Вильямс привлек мотель с двумя старыми паровозами Santa Fe и одним пассажирским вагоном, древним как и вышеуказанные бензоколонки. Меня как человека, связанного с железной дорогой, удивляло, что в Америке:

1) железная дорога не электрофицирована , и потому огромные 40-ка футовые контейнера ставят на ж.д. платформы в два(!) этажа – проводов-то сверху нет!

2) длина поездов превышала длину российских грузовых составов чуть ли не вдвое!

Гранд Каньон – вот это что-то! Наверное, это одно из семи чудес света, дошедшее до наших дней. Гранд Каньён – это огромная трещина в земной коре, другого «берега» еле видно. А внизу горы из красного камня и реки, ручьи еле различимы с огромной высоты. На обрыве пронзительно холодный ветер, это говорит о том, что мы находимся высоко над уровнем моря. Куча китайско-японских туристов. Когда спускались с Каньона, впервые ехали в темноте – небо Аризоны более чем звездное!

Примечание : Лёха всю дорогу ехал сзади, метрах в трехстах – наверное, ловит ментов «на живца»; благо их тут валом, и, судя по оживленным беседам на обочинах, клиентов у них хватает

Ночевали в резервации племени Навахо , на вопрос будут ли наши моцы в безопасности на Reception , пожали плечами.

 

14.10.04 г. Сегодня в Дипломате проснулся гонщик (или он просто выспался). Шпилил он 90 миль в час, я еле его догонял. Очень холодно, едем в сторону Альбукерне по 40-ой, по горному плато. Первые 200 миль держу руль одной рукой, вторая греется около… пятой точки. Не выдержав издевательства ветрам, мы свернули с хайвея и ушли строго на юг по 77-ой к мексиканской границе. Стало заметно теплее, проехали резервацию Апачей через горы, каньоны, озера – мета суперкрасивые . Дипломат на одной из заправок пожертвовал доллар на нужды детей и его выписали в аналы меценатского движения штата Аризона. Его записали на вырезанный из бумаги кленовый лист и приклеили на стеклянную стену АЗС – пустячок, а чертовски приятно!

Заехав в штат Нью Мексико , решили перекусить. Зашли в одном из ранчо кафе, где были, видимо, первыми посетителями за прошедшую неделю – так нам обрадовались. Тетеньки нажарили нам огромных стейков и разъяснили в деталях политическую ситуацию в США, настаивая о первородстве Буша. (Говоря о приближающихся выборах – 2 ноября 2004 года надо сказать, что лозунги там похлеще наших – «VOTE OR DEID !» («Голосую или умрешь!»). Также они передали привет В.В. Путину и сказали, что прогрессивные жители штата поддерживают его в нелегкой борьбе с терроризмом (так что, если Вы, Владимир Владимирович, читаете, то примите это к сведению).


По всем вопросам звоните и пишите Максиму: (495) 9919921, info@motoluber.ru


© MOTOLUBER.RU